If it’s set in North Dakota

Finally finished my book club’s choice. I like the members a lot, but honestly, what is so appealing about all of these books set in America’s heartland that feature miserable people doing miserable things to one another? Or almost worse, characters having awful things happen to them? Adversity can be fascinating, but if I wanted to read the Book of Job, I’d go and read the Book of Job.

I’m not a big fan of Oprah fiction; I’m just not. To be perfectly honest, I could do without the America’s heartland aspect of it too. Other people see fields of waving grain or whatever. I keep flashing back to the Centennial mini series scene where it’s the Dust Bowl years and the crazy mother loses it, grabs an axe, and takes out most of her family.

Give me Dear Jane any day.

Leave a Reply

