Merry Christmas to me!

To my great joy, I received my copy of The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King – Extended Edition on Friday. It’s taken me the past three nights to watch the movie and then watch both the cast and director/writer commentaries and I haven’t even seen any of the documentary extras yet.

My verdict: so, so worth it. The deleted footage addressed a lot of my major criticisms with the theatrical release. It also added so much more complexity to the story. Jackson and co. evidently excised it because they wanted to move the story along deciding to sacrifice the plotlines of the secondary characters. I can see why you wouldn’t want a theatrical film over four hours, but I have to wonder if they didn’t lose the wrong material.

Leave a Reply

