Memories are made of this

I finally got my hands on a copy of The Gallery of Regrettable Food. To my surprise, I actually have seen one of the booklets Lileks is talking about, The Joys of J-ello. My mom still has a copy.

The scary thing was though . . . I’m reading the book and chuckling because a lot of the food is truly, truly awful. Except. Every once in awhile the recipe booklets Lileks was snarking on? Had it right. There’s a reason a lot of cooks use things like Dr. Pepper or Coca-Cola when they cook a ham. If it’s good enough for Alton Brown, it’s good enough for me. And I’ve heard of using it in pancakes too. Supposedly, it creates a lighter batter. Not sure I would use two bottles, but it’s really not that out there as a suggeston.

The other thought that occurred to me is that the one, and thankfully only

Sandra Lee is keeping the sad tradition of scary looking food made out of condensed cream of mushroom soup alive. If you’ve ever watched her trainwreck of a show, you’ll realize that she’s the younger, prettier, and much thinner version of Aunt Jenny. True, she doesn’t stick to one brand, but like Aunt Jenny, Sandre Lee is all about brand name shortcuts and old-fashioned sexist propaganda.

Food for thought anyhow.

Leave a Reply

