Dark day

This is what happens when you live in a news-deprived fog. Came across this on a message board. Makes me sad. The man was brilliant. The New York Times obit is pretty dry. This is the man who pretty much invented the graphic novel as we know it.

My first encounter with his work probably dates back to the late eighties. I remember browsing through the shelves of a local comic book store and picking up some reprints of The Spirit. They weren’t worth anything monetarily, but I loved them. When I found out the library had some of his graphic novels, I devoured those too.

He will be missed.

Leave a Reply

