Fun with Punctuation!

My recollections of being taught how to properly punctuate are so dim that I’m beginning to wonder if anybody ever bothered to cover the subject. I do own a copy of The Elements of Style, but I think that’s because a college professor suggested that we all get a copy. I’ve read it and I like to think I’ve learned from it. At the very least, I’ve learned that I have several deplorable tendencies:

1. I don’t use commas properly.
2. I’m over fond of the dash.
3. I like overly long and complicated sentences.

All that said, it’s not easy to learn how to correct those faults. Then I got a copy of Eats, Shoots & Leaves.

If anyone had told me a year ago that I’d be howling with laughter at the Laundromat over a book about punctuating, I’d would have thought they were crazy.

Let’s see if I can take what I’ve learned and make use of it.

Leave a Reply

