Whew

Had my first medical emergency reference question this afternoon. Not a “I have a paper due tomorrow and I haven’t started it till just now” emergency question, but an honest-to-goodness, “I have a patient on the table and I need this now” emergency question.

It’s all handled and my colleague helped me. Hopefully, we got the doctor what he needed, but I know two things:

  1. I could never be an Informationist. I have all the respect in the world for them, but it’s not for me. I feel totally drained as it is.
  2. Librarianship is cool. Seriously, for all those clueless people out there who seem to think I read all day while seated in a leather club chair and work in an ivy-covered edifice, this one’s for you. Whether or not the patient is going to be okay, I don’t know and that troubles me. But it wasn’t a bar bet. It wasn’t for a truly academic exercise.This man needed information for a life threatening situation. I helped to find it. How cool is that?
Leave a Reply

