How do you get to Carnegie Hall?

They don’t teach you about the hours and hours of preparation you’ll need for instruction when you’re in library school. No, that’s wrong, I think I did hear about it, but I don’t think it really sunk in. Not until I found myself poking around in InfoTrac OneFile for hours on end trying to find relevant examples that would demonstrate the strengths and the flaws of the database. It might also have been when I was practicing to myself and the cats I was pet sitting so I could get the timing right. I was off the clock (in an hourly wage position) and it was a beautiful day. The cats were perturbed and so was I. I don’t do that quite as much anymore and when I do, at least I’m salaried so I am getting paid for the preparation.

I’ve gotten to the point now where I’m not over-prepared. No longer do I walk in a class with two inches of papers. I haven’t quite reached the stage where I walk in with nothing at all, but it’s down to two or three pieces of paper. I’m getting the timing down too.

One of the graduate students was telling me how much they hate public speaking. I used to go into shakes before presentations. Cold sweats, anxiety dreams, tension headaches–all were a part of my world. I admit to still having bouts of nervousness when speaking in front of colleagues, but students don’t induce the absolute panic in me that they used to. Maybe it’s because I’ve come to realize that I know more than they do.

Leave a Reply

