That was HER?

The first of hopefully several seasons of Rome finished up with a bang. Aside from a few gripes with the historical accuracy (where for instance is Marcellus?) I loved this show. In particular, I loved Lindsay Duncan. As Servilia she is almost as clinically cold as Sian Philips‘ Livia, and gives an amazing performance.

I’ve seen Duncan in a few things, most recently in Under the Tuscan Sun. Curious to see what else she’s done, I looked her up in IMDB. To my complete and total shock, I just discovered she played the ingenue in On Approval–the version with Penelope Keith and the late Jeremy Brett. I have a tape of it somewhere. I would never have realized that she was the same actress.

Wow. Talk about range.

Leave a Reply

