Wireless

There are certain types of questions I dread. I do the best I can to answer them, but I have to be honest, when a query gets me deep in the murky waters of business or legal resources, it gets hard for me to hide my panic beneath my neutral face. On the other hand, I imagine there are librarians who have similar reactions to questions about the health sciences… At least with resources outside of my experience, I can either muddle my through (after all a database is a database is a database) or I can contact someone who does know how to finesse their way through Hoover or LegalTrac.

And then there are the tech questions. Now I can change margins, fonts, a page from portrait to landscape, manipulate columns and rows with the best of them, but when I see a patron coming at me with a laptop and a worried look, I start to sweat. Even when the patron is not technically challenged, it’s next to impossible to get an answer from the tech people. Apparently, I am not alone.

Leave a Reply

