Down, down, down

It never ceases to amaze me how lost everyone (including me) becomes when the Internet is down. When I first started library school, they were still hammering home the need to be able to use the print sources. I don’t disagree with that. But we’re not getting Index Medicus in print anymore so that won’t help me with the patron looking for anything in the past couple of years. And health sciences patrons typically consider anything older than the last five years as prehistoric. Short of sending them toward the periodical stacks and suggesting they start randomly pulling down journals (the last, best hope of the truly desperate), what the heck do you do?

Thankfully it went back up, but honestly, I always feel like I’ve been amputated or something…

Leave a Reply

