All this and Death Takes a Holiday too!

I had an unexpected Christmas present this year. A large media store is going out of business and it was an EVERYTHING MUST GO! situation. Naturally, I steered my aging car into the parking lot to partake of the DRASTICALLY MARKED DOWN PRICES.

Picked up a mess of stuff including The Wedding Banquet, Eat Drink Man Woman, and Apollo 13. It was tempting to buy more, but I restrained myself.

And then, the icing on the cake as it were, was the fact that TCM aired Death Takes a Holiday last night. Before there was that piece of dreck called Meet Joe Black (which I refuse to hyperlink), there was this charming haunting movie. To be fair, I don’t think it would have been possible for anyone to do a remake that would do the original justice. They really don’t make this kind of film anymore.

You know, the kind that’s almost ethereal. There’s really no attempt to ground any of the stock characters in reality. No, here, they’re a group of Italian aristocrats. For example, Henry Travers as an Italian count–the only way to make it work is to just accept it and move on. The plot is very simple; heck, the film is barely 90 minutes. Unlike the remake, there aren’t any serious subplots. It’s really just a very simple, very charming fantasy.

I hope it airs again soon. I have a birthday coming up.

Leave a Reply

