Great cast, lousy movie

Later Cary Grant can be an iffy proposition. I caught most of Dream Wife this morning when I was getting dressed. It’s one I’ve seen before. Cary Grant is annoyed with his fiancee’s (the remarkable Deborah Kerr) dedication to her State Department job. Somehow (I forget exactly what the deal was), he gets embroiled with a potentate’s daughter of a made-up country. Kerr starts to educate the girl and all hell breaks loose. Kerr looks beautiful as usual. It’s a harmless film, but nothing to write home about.

I had the good fortune to spy a VHS copy of Die! Die! My Darling! for a mere dollar. Whereas Dream Wife is a more prestigious film, “there’s no there there.” This turkey is by no means a good movie, but it’s got presence.

After I watch it again, I will have more to say, but to whet my two readers’ appetites, here’s the plot. After her fiance dies, a young woman (Stefanie Powers) pays what she thinks is a duty call on his elderly mother, Mrs. Trefoile (the one, the only, the incomparable, Miss Tallulah Bankhead). The first problem is that Mrs. Trefoile expects her to stay a lot longer (like permanently). The second is that Mrs. Trefoile is a religious fanatic. And the third teensiest little issue is that Mrs. Trefoile is stark staring mad.

This is gonna be fun.

Leave a Reply

