The accidental touch of the remote

I hit the wrong channel button on my remote last night and tumbled onto the most haunting, emotionally wrenching film I have ever seen in my life.

Grave of the Fireflies is from Studio Ghibli, the same studio that made Spirited Away (another amazing film). It’s directed by Isao Takahata who I just realized was the director on Only Yesterday, which I also loved.

Grave of the Fireflies is set in Japan during World War II. It’s about the increasingly doomed attempts of 14-year-old Seita and his little 4-year-old sister Setsuko to survive. It’s also about how a surfeit of pride and what the horrors of war can do to civilians.

It is undoubtedly one of the best if not the best animated film I’ve ever seen and I don’t know that I have ever been so moved by a movie–live action or animated–in my entire life…

2 responses to “The accidental touch of the remote

  1. Grave of the Fireflies is an amazing and emotionally wrenching film–not one I could watch very often, but I recommend it to everyone.

  2. The funny thing was that my best friend saw this and loathed it. Also recently saw a Japanese film based on a true story, albeit set in modern times called Nobody Knows which also dealt with abandoned children.

Leave a Reply

