Google Answers is no more

Google announced that they’re canning their 4-year-old Google Answers project. I have to admit to feeling a little misty about it. For those few dark months after I graduated from library school, Google Answers kept me afloat. Yes, I was a Google Answers researcher (GAR). I know there are librarians who were appalled when GA was instituted, but my experience was pretty positive. I concentrated on questions that required the use of print sources and I learned an awful lot about reference books and our local collections. I got to know some of the GARs; on the whole, they’re an impressive lot–knowledgeable, thorough, conscientious. I’m really hoping Google decides to keep the archive of questions and answers up because it was truly an interesting experiment. It would be a shame for all that data to disappear.

Leave a Reply

