Google Answers is dead but are the GARs?

Many of the soon-to-be-ex-Google Answers Researchers are debating starting up a new service of their own. Meanwhile Yahoo Answers is inviting the GARs to check out their own service.

I know this isn’t the most popular opinion in LibraryLand, but I think there’s a place for services like GA. Not everyone wants to do their own research, nor do they necessarily find it convenient to come in to a library and ask for help. There’s a reason corporate librarians don’t spend time showing their patrons how to do the search. I’m sorry to say that my own attempts to get assistance at the respective reference desks of public libraries were often really unsuccessful. I was willing to dig to find my own answers. Not everyone is. Sometimes it’s simpler to pay somebody the money to do the work for you.

On a totally different topic, the second issue of the open-access, peer-reviewed journalLibrary Student Journal is out.

One response to “Google Answers is dead but are the GARs?

  1. This is great to know. I’m glad to see some familiar faces on uclue.com. I will be checking it out!

Leave a Reply

