Let's start with a failure

The other night I made a custard pie. Now I’ve made custard many times before. It’s the easiest way I know of to get rid of milk. It’s simple enough. I did everything right. I know I did. I read the recipe, preheated the oven, checked the temperature. Then I took out the piecrust and blind baked it. I let the crust cool. I mixed my filling (eggs, milk, nutmeg, sugar, vanilla, and salt). I put it in the oven at the correct temperature for the correct amount of time.

I ended up with custard soup with a beautifully golden brown crust.

I put it back in the oven for more time. Still soup. I covered up my now-darkening crust with tinfoil and put it back in. Still soup.

Finally I stuck it in the freezer and ended up with an ice-milk custard pie. Still trying to figure out what exactly went wrong…

Comments are closed.