Cranberry sauce, not just for Thanksgiving

One of the recipes I tried for Thanksgiving was for a tart cranberry onion relish, which I thought was a nice change from my usual follow-the-directions-off-the-package-cranberry-sauce. I wasn’t sure how well the new one would be received so I made both. Turns out my guests much preferred the tart cranberry and scarfed all of it down. As I had another bag of cranberries, I decided to make some just for me.

cranberries (fresh or frozen) – 12oz
sweet onion – chopped
red currant jelly – 12 oz
1/4 cup cider vinegar
2 to 4 tbsp sugar (to taste)

Mix all ingredients in a pot. Bring to a boil, covered. Reduce heat and simmer uncovered till the berries have popped (approx. 5 min). Remove from heat and cool uncovered. Transfer to a bowl and chill covered for about a day.

(c)Gourmet Magazine

Darn simple to make and very tasty. I erred on the side of caution and only used 2 tbsp of sugar. Served it with the porkchops I fried up on the stove along with steamed rice and some green beans. I still have oodles of turnips so if I make those pancakes again, I think I’ll use some of the cranberry relish.

Leave a Reply

