Easy as pie

So I was at a lovely brunch my friend hosted (baked french toast and a caramel syrup–I so want that recipe) and she was looking for a dessert to bring to a gathering. Cookies aside, dessert is not my strong point. I have, however, a sinfully rich and easy sure-fire recipe adapted from Everyday Italian. I’m kind of over Giada DeLaurentiis. I like her recipes, but I am really tired of seeing how far down the neckline’s gonna go. The over-enunciation and the huge shark-like smile…over that too.

Personality aside, her recipes usually work out and I rather like this one.

Chocolate-nut tart

(original recipe here, my adaptation is below)

1/2 cup sugar
2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
3 eggs
1 1/2 cups peeled, chopped, and toasted nuts (pecans, walnuts, or hazelnuts)
8 ounces bittersweet chocolate chips (about 1 cup)
1 cup corn syrup
2 tablespoons butter, melted
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 store bought pie crust (I prefer the kind that roll out)

Toast the nuts for about 10 minutes. Hazelnuts are called for in the original recipe, but they’re usually expensive and to be honest, I prefer pecans.

Preheat the oven to 325F.

Press the crust into either a tart pan or a pie pan. This is a really rich dessert so I prefer the tart pan as you end up with a shallower tart and also, it looks quite elegant. Cut off excess crust.

Melt the butter and allow to cool slightly (you do not want to make scrambled eggs here).  Beat the eggs.  Gradually add the sugar, melted butter, corn syrup, and vanilla. Mix the flour and salt together and add to the liquid mixture. Add the chocolate and the nuts. Stir well. Pour the mixture into the pie crust. Bake for 1 hour.

Cool the tart for at least 30 minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

