What would you like on your tombstone?

I like to walk around old graveyards. I know some people find that morbid; my late father refused to set foot in a cemetery unless someone was being buried, but I like the sense of history–usually personal history–you get. For years I’ve wondered about the symbols that are present on tombstones. Some of them, like celtic knots, I knew about, others like the draped urn were a mystery. I’ve looked for books and such, but have never had much luck.

Actually when I think back on it, my search for this information was one of those screaming signs that I was meant to be a librarian. I scoured the catalog using subject headings and related terms. I browsed various sections of the collection based on call numbers. I looked through back of the book indices. All to no avail. At some point, it became more about the hunt than the end result. Anyhow…

Then recently I came across this blog, appropriately titled Cemeteries and Cemetery Symbols. Inspired, I did a little more digging (pardon the pun) and found some more sites, including this one and this one and this one.

3 responses to “What would you like on your tombstone?

  1. Hello M.L.,I’m glad you enjoyed my Cemeteries and Cemetery symbols website. Thanks for writing about it.

  2. Thanks so much for linking to my site in this blog entry! As you can tell, I enjoy walking around cemeteries too 🙂

  3. I love walking around cemeteries too. Wonderful feeling actually. I love your two blogs, BTW.Nancy

Leave a Reply

