Spring cleaning

I like to have the TV on in the morning while I get ready. Lately, I’ve been watching reruns of Clean House, which is not the best program of its type, but is still interesting to watch. It’s the downmarket version (more mugging, more manufactured drama) of the now defunct Clean Sweep (more organizational tips, more information).

Recently a friend recommended a book by Peter Walsh (the organizer from Clean Sweep) called It’s All Too Much. While it has less of the tips than I thought it would, it was still an interesting read and it’s inspired me to start going through the house with a more critical eye. Now I’m not a slob and my house is not messy like the houses of the people who go on these shows, but I still have too much stuff. I don’t really like that feeling. I like things to be neat and tidy and orderly. So it’s prompted me to do some reorganizing.

One of his suggestions is to take two bags–one for trash and one for donations–and just go through your house and fill them. While I’m happy to say that most of what I own is in good condition, I have filled a bag twice now with items for donations. It’s a little scary how many dvds and books I own. Now I read my books. I read and reread, but there are still items on my shelves that I don’t like or have yet to have read.

I think what happens is that after awhile you can’t really see the trees for the forest. You don’t see individual titles–just the shelves with the items. So I have been looking at each book and dvd individually and weeding.

I must say it’s a good feeling when your books and media have room to breathe.

Leave a Reply

