Keeping the Faith

Remember Twin Peaks? The first season of that still stands as possibly the most brilliant television I have ever seen. Then came the second season. Unfortunately it was not anywhere close to being brilliant television. I watched it till the bitter end though. The very bitter end. In fact…it was this past weekend that I finally brought myself to junk the VHS tapes I had made when it aired.

Well, now my beloved Lost is in its sixth and final season. It’s starting to feel a lot like that second season of Twin Peaks.

I’m still doggedly watching though. We’re getting answers; I’m just not loving the answers we’re getting.

If I had to put my finger on why I’m not loving this, I think it comes down to time travel. I’m not a big fan of the time travel device — Dr. Who notwithstanding. The problem with time paradoxes is that they get messy very very quickly. There are two many holes to plug up and I don’t think I’ve ever seen or read a story where the writer(s) was(were) able to do that successfully. So when they started up with the time travel, I allowed some doubt to creep in. It’s been there ever since.

But I’m still watching…

Leave a Reply

