Diving back into genealogy?

George and Connie Gerace by mlzafronI’ve been taking a little break from genealogy. After you’ve had your umpteenth dream about being lost in a cemetery, tripping over tombstones looking for ancestors or shirttail relatives, it’s probably  a sign that you need to stop for awhile.
And I have. I finished scanning stuff; I organized my documentation into file folders; I stopped hunting down distant cousins on Facebook. I even stopped going to to the monthly meetings they have here at work.
But now, I’m debating getting back into it. The weather has been nice and maybe if I’m, oh, I dunno, organized this time, my gravestone hunting adventures won’t be quite so chaotic.
The next steps are going to require more of a commitment from me. I need to spend some quality time digging around microfilm. Been there, done that and there is no disguising the fact that it is a pain and a half to deal with microfilm. I also need to send away for a few documents. At least so that I can deal with the next steps. I probably need to suck it up and go to the LDS genealogical library, which doesn’t enthuse me.
Anyhow, I’m probably going to start having the dreams again…but not quite yet…meanwhile, I give you my grandparents when they were courting. I love this photo!
Leave a Reply

