Is this madness? – Day 0

After countless years of dieting, weight loss and then the seemingly inevitable weight gain, about six months ago, I decided to try something different.

Rather then attempt to diet, I decided to try and change a few behaviors. These were the ones I have been tackling on a daily basis:

  1. Take my multivitamin
  2. Drink 64 ounces of water
  3. Walk 10,000 steps
  4. Eat 5 servings of fruits and vegetables
  5. Track my food intake

And by and large, I’ve been successful. I bought a Fitbit and I started using MyFitnessPal. f I fall out of the habit of doing these things, I just chalk up the inevitable and start doing them again.

The results? Have largely been successful. I’ve lost about 30 pounds and several sizes. I feel a lot better and I’m sleeping better. One of the things I’ve noticed, though, is that my sodium, glucose, and fat intakes are usually on the high end of normal or over. Also, I’ve plateaued on the weight loss. And as we started into the holiday season, I could just feel the pounds being packed right back on.  After talking to a friend of mine, I decided to give something called the Fed Up Challenge a go. I did a little reading and then I came across this.

So here’s the thing. I don’t like exclusionary diets. To me, that is an exercise bound for failure. What I like about this is that I can still have sugar, just only in naturally occurring forms (like fruit). There is no way in hell I’m cutting out all gluten, but I think I could do the following:

  • No added sugar
  • No processed foods with added sugars (and I’m actually going to try and limit processed foods as much as possible),
  • Whole wheat flour and brown rice products, but not too much of them

And we’ll see. I start tomorrow. I’ve been making menus because I get the sense that this is a challenge that requires planning.

A couple of people have asked me why I want to do this. I want to  see if this helps me meet and not exceed the FDA guidelines for nutrients, minerals, etc. I usually feel better when I cook, but it’s always so painfully easy to fall back on takeout. This will keep me focused. And maybe it’s going to push me out of the plateau weight loss thing. Who knows? I may cave after day 2. I think it’s worth a go.

One response to “Is this madness? – Day 0

  1. Pingback: Fed Up Challenge Redux | ___is black the new black?

Leave a Reply

