Fed Up Challenge – Day 3

Day 3. I wish I could say I’ve noticed intense cravings or great effects from this, but so far I feel normal. I definitely felt out of sorts over Christmas, bloated and just nasty, but I have been attempting to make healthy choices in my diet since late May so “normal” equates to that for me. Basically, I am irritated that so many food products that do not need sugar have sugar, but otherwise nothing remarkable.

Let’s talk about that for a moment. Most brands of peanut butter for instance, contain sugar. Peanut butter should have peanuts, oil, and salt. That’s it. Fortunately, if you’re willing to spend the time and money, there are options. It just takes a lot of label reading. Here’s a list of some of the ones to look out for. See, long-term, I plan on consuming foods that have added sugar once again and I don’t mind the natural ones so much, but it frustrates me when they’re added to practically everything out there.

Okay, off my soapbox. Today’s report!

Breakfast: Instant oatmeal (plain, no sugar added) mixed up with 1 tsp of Chinese Five Spice Powder, a tbsp of raisins, 1/4 cup of almonds, and hot water. Coffee and my multivitamin.

Lunch: Leftovers of the chicken, roast vegetable combination, and beet greens from last night. Yummy!

Snack: 2 Clementines

Dinner: Reader, I branched out. A colleague told me about making pizza with cauliflower and well, I tried it. Allow me to show you the finished product:

cauliflower pizza

Looks good, huh? Tasted good too.

So two slices of pizza with some homemade marinara, fresh mozzarella, fresh mushrooms, and basil, about 2 cups of lettuce, tomatoes, and radishes, and 1 tbsp of Annie’s Organic Lemon Chive dressing, followed by 2 Clementines

I think I would have enjoyed this more if I had actually followed the directions on the recipe and not dropped over a third of the cauliflower all over my kitchen floor. The recipe is here.

Basically you take a head of cauliflower, chop into the florets. Then you’re supposed to pulse it in batches in your food processor. Unless you’re foolish like me and try to fit it all in there at once and the thing gets clogged and your rice-like consistency is more like a paste-like consistency. I messed up the amount of water too and then when I was squeezing out the moisture with the tea towel, managed to lose a ton of it.

But it’s really good. It’s not at all like a flour crust, but it has great flavor and good texture. I will make this again.

Shall we look at the numbers?

  • Calories: 1267 – well under
  • Carbs: 126 – very much under
  • Fat: 60 – on the nose
  • Protein: 68 – under, but not unduly so
  • Sodium: 1012 – more than half under
  • Sugar: 51 – under
  • Cholesterol – higher than yesterday, but under
  • Potassium – over for the first time (cauliflower is loaded with it)
  • Fiber – under by a hair
  • Calcium, Iron, Vitamin A & C: over by a lot
Leave a Reply

