Fed Up Challenge – Day 4 (or why I should never make stir fry)

Day 4: And I was doing so well.

Seriously, I was totally on target. And then this. I am not even going to run the numbers today. They’re all in the red by pretty huge amounts. I’m over in all the wrong categories.

And I had sugar. I lost my mind at some point around 11PM and devoured several pieces of marzipan candy–I don’t even like marzipan. I didn’t enjoy it either. It was too sweet and it was nasty, but pretty much from 10PM on, I felt like I was under a compulsion.

Sigh.

Breakfast: Instant oatmeal (plain, no sugar added) mixed up with 1 tsp of Chinese Five Spice Powder, a tbsp of raisins, 1/4 cup of almonds, and hot water. Coffee and my multivitamin.

Lunch: Leftovers from dinner: two slices of pizza with some homemade marinara, fresh mozzarella, fresh mushrooms, and basil, about 2 cups of lettuce, tomatoes, and radishes, and 1 tbsp of Annie’s Organic Lemon Chive dressing.

Snacks:  microwave popcorn (just popcorn, nothing added) and 2 Clementines.

Dinner: 1/4 cup dry of brown rice, chicken stir fry with carrots, mushrooms, sugar snap peas, orange pepper strips, scallions, ginger, and garlic.

Binge-eating session from hell: 3/4 cups of cashews, multiple pieces of marzipan

Up until the binge-eating session, I was doing fine. I meticulously measured out enough for 2 portions of stir fry. I weighed things. I divided in half and I entered each ingredient. And before I lost my mind and self-control, I would have been under for everything but fat, and even then only by a tiny bit.

But it’s done and there’s no more candy in the house. If I have learned anything from years of trying to practice good nutrition it is that you just have to square your shoulders and decide you will do better the next day.

One response to “Fed Up Challenge – Day 4 (or why I should never make stir fry)

  1. I have been there so so many times. Finally after 40 years of struggling, at age 62 I lost 70 pounds with Gods help.

    http://www.talkingtomyweightlosscounselor.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

