Flying blind with KonMari

A friend was telling me about KonMari–apparently I’ve been living under a rock for the past six months because the book is/was a best seller and when I googled, everyone and their brother was blogging/writing about it.

I requested the book, but I did enough reading online that I think I get the basic concept.

  • You sort by category rather than location
  • You put all of that category in one place
  • You handle each item
  • You ask yourself if it “sparks joy”
  • If you’re purging it, you thank it for its service
  • And then your stuff has room to breathe

Apparently you start with clothes, but since that’s a huge thing for me, I just do not have it in me to deal with that. Also, I had already planned on tackling at least one of my kitchen cupboards this weekend.

Before

Pretty much everyone in the US probably has a drawer or cupboard like that. Now sure, it looks like hell, but my thinking was that I would just toss/recycle a few things and rearrange it. Besides, how exactly does a Rubbermaid container “spark joy?” But rather than do what I normally do, spread the stuff on the counter, and pick at it, I opted to at least try moving everything to another room and that I would handle each and every item.

And then this happened.

on the table

I live alone. And while I cook a lot. I don’t cook THAT much. Also as I picked up each item, I noticed that a lot of the containers had gotten really ratty. The two Rubbermaid containers on the right hand side in the front had lids that had holes in them. Some of the containers were really not meant for the amount of use and abuse I’d subjected them to.

Now did some stuff “spark joy?” Oddly enough, yeah some did. I’ve been experimenting with preparing lunches in a Bento style and those little containers work really well. And I love the Lock & Lock containers. They hold up well, seal tight, and they’re of good quality.

But most of what I had? It’s time was up. Yeah, I had six Gladware containers for when I had people over and didn’t want to give them my good stuff, but how often does that happen? There was nothing remarkable about those containers. Nothing to exclaim over. They’re not even that utilitarian–you can’t use them that much. Time to go.

And while I did not thank the items, it felt pretty darn good when I dragged a good portion of the items out to recycling. I was able to move a plastic pitcher up to the container drawer and now I can see everything I have. Not perfect, but a vast improvement.

After

So I am going to read the book, see what I think, and then see what I can do about the rest of the house.

One response to “Flying blind with KonMari

  1. Pingback: Decluttering plan – Konmari style | ___is black the new black?

Leave a Reply

