Ginger snap icebox cake

My Christmas dinner dessert:

Ginger snap ice box cake

A post shared by Oxford Comma (@the_real_oxford_comma) on

One sleepless night, I turned on Netflix and watched a couple of episodes of The Barefoot Contessa, a program I used to love back in the days when I had cable. (Whatever you think about Ina Garten, her recipes always work out and I have a couple that I’ve used with great success for years.)

She was making an icebox cake. If you’re not familiar with the term, it’s a cake you assemble by layering thin, crisp cookies with whipped cream, and then put in the icebox (an earlier incarnation of the refrigerator) overnight. The cookies soften and you end up with a cake-like consistency.

My mom used to make the one they have on the package of Nabisco chocolate wafers, which was really good, but the presentation was never all that fancy.

For hers, Ina Garten, lined a springform pan with chocolate chip cookies, and proceeded to make layers of a whipped cream/mascarpone mixture and more cookies until she came to the top of the pan. She then covered it with plastic wrap and put it in the fridge overnight. You can find her recipe here.

I like ginger for Christmas so I decided to adapt this. I found ginger snaps that have crystallized ginger baked into them. And then I adapted the cream mixture.

  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 12 ounces mascarpone
  • ¼ cup powdered sugar
  • ¼ cup brandy
  • 1 tsp orange extract

And this is how it came out!

I think if I made it again, I’d sub out Grand Marnier for the brandy and maybe put some candied orange peels on the top.

But very very yummy just the way I made it.

Ginger snap ice box cake

A post shared by Oxford Comma (@the_real_oxford_comma) on

Leave a Reply

