Closet makeover

As you will know if you’ve read any of my previous posts, I’m a convert to the Marie Kondo way of decluttering and organizing your home. I completed phase I and have been working slowly on phase II.

I still live with objects that don’t spark joy, but I have a master list and I am slowly replacing them or decluttering them completely.

Mostly, though, I’ve been engaged in a desultorily sort of final organization. My brother’s partner suggested a place that had really attractive storage boxes that are now housing the family mementos that had hitherto been in Sterlite containers. And I decided to fine tune the closet.

Here’s the before.

hanger before

Things were a little crammed in here, but then somehow I got to chatting with someone and she suggested I look into “huggable hangers.”

These go by several names: Huggable hangers, velvet hangers, flocked hangers, slimline hangers, and so on. They’re also available at a variety of price points. The chief advantages that I found in researching were:

  • They take up a lot less room than conventional hangers
  • The clothes hang on them properly so they get less wrinkled
  • Slippery straps and such stay on the hanger and don’t fall off

I asked around and a number of people in my life were big fans.

Like anything, along with the pros come the cons:

  • Clothes really stay on the hangers and this can be problematic if you’re in a hurry
  • Some people reported that the flocking stained their clothes
  • They’re not cheap

Armed with some Bed, Bath, and Beyond coupons, I decided to try a set and see how they worked.I opted to go with the putty color just in case staining is an issue. As you can see, I liked the end result because I went back and bought enough to redo the 95% of my closet.

hangers after

There is definitely more room and I really like the way the clothes hang. I haven’t noticed any issues with being able to remove garments, but this may be because I went with the mid-priced option and not the official Joy Mangano “Huggable Hangers,” but I’m quite pleased.

Leave a Reply

