Fed Up Challenge Redux – Day 1

Every single time I start doing something like this, I am struck by how much and how often I think about food. It’s constant and it does make me wonder.

Breakfast:

  • Instant plain oatmeal with cinnamon and 1/4 cup raisins
  • Coffee

(I had forgotten how vile this is–I need to find a way to make it more palatable)

Lunch:

  • 2 tbsp hummus
  • half a green pepper
  • carrots
  • radishes
  • cherry tomatoes

I took the time to make it all look pretty on the plate, but it wasn’t very filling. Either I need to up the vegetable content or I have to add protein. Probably the latter.

Snacks:

  • 1/4 cup almonds
  • carrots

Dinner:

  • Salmon patty (no breadcrumbs), wrapped in lettuce leaf with tomato slice and 1 tsp of mustard
  • 1 cup broccoli
  • 2/3 cup corn

Dessert:

  • 1 cup blueberries
  • 1/4 cup ricotta

(This was yummy and filling)

The numbers:

Under everything but sugar. Had 70 g today instead of 62 g (this is what’s naturally in fruits and vegetables, not added sugar).

My big thing today was that I did  a lot of prep for the next few weeks. I riced a head of cauliflower and froze it for making cauliflower crust pizza later. I also made and froze turkey patties and prepped a bunch of vegetables. Tomorrow night I am going to cook some of the chicken I bought and parcel it out into individual portions.

 

Leave a Reply

