Fed Up Challenge Redux – Day 2

Let’s do the numbers first.

They’re very good. Well under everything except protein–over by 2 grams there.

I managed to feel sated too.

And I also feel like I want to hit someone. Now to be fair, I have some health problems and my hormones are pretty much all out of whack, but I am putting this down to withdrawal. I am desperately craving sweets. It’s to the point where I think I am going to pass going to the farmer’s market tomorrow because I fear what will happen if I walk by any of the stalls with baked goods.

sugar-cubes

I’ve never really gotten the whole concept of “food addiction.” After all, you can stop drinking or doing drugs. How do you stop eating food?

At a recent screening of “Fed Up,” I was struck, though, by an image showing the brain reacting to sugar and cocaine.

fed-up-sugar-cocaine-brain-scan-620

So maybe there’s something in this after all…

Breakfast:

  • Coffee
  • Apple slices and 2 tbsp of cashew butter

Lunch:

  • Leftovers from dinner (salmon patty, corn, broccoli

Snacks:

  • 2 radishes
  • Popcorn (nothing added)
  • 1/4 cup dried unsweetened cherries

Dinner:

Dessert:

  • orange
  • mini brie

The pork tenderloin dish was good. I subbed out canned broth for my own. It desperately needed salt so I ended up sprinkling in a little Parmesan to the quinoa mixture.

I think having protein at every meal helped a lot and kale and quinoa are fairly bulky when it comes to food. But I really really want sugar. MUST RESIST.

 

Leave a Reply

