Fed Up Challenge Redux – Day 6

I believe I alluded to some health issues before. First of all, I’m an insomniac. I have some other things going on too that are all contributing to the lack of sleep. Part of the reason why I wanted to redo this challenge was because I felt that if I could kickstart myself back into some healthier eating habits, I might sleep better.

It seems to be working. The quantity is still not optimal, but at least I’m sleeping through most of the night. And today for the first time in months and months, I felt like I was alert and focused and I had all this energy.

Some of that has to be due to the change in diet.

My numbers were really good.

Totals 1,386 198 48 69 646 67
Your Daily Goal 1,897 238 63 95 2,300 71
Remaining 511 40 15 26 1,653 4
Calories Carbs Fat Protein Sodium Sugar

Nothing in the red there! I could done a little better on fiber and potassium, but otherwise, I’m pleased.

Breakfast: usual coffee and multivitamin. And something I’m going to call an oatmeal cake.

See unflavored instant oatmeal could double as glue. I’ve tried adding cinnamon and spices and stuff and raisins and it’s still like wallpaper taste. So I experimented a little this morning. I added some hot water, the usual spices, and a little salt and then I pan fried it in a little non-stick spray. It was infinitely more palatable.

Lunch: leftovers from last night, the chicken, the salsa, the avocado pesto and some cherry tomatoes

Dinner: grilled asparagus with some balsamic vinegar and olive oil, chicken, sauteed zucchini with garlic and olive oil, and some ersatz potato salad (which is basically potatoes, radishes, red onion, scallions, some balsamic, some herbes de provence, and a tiny bit of olive oil). 1 oz of bourbon

Snacks: 1/4 cup almonds, 1/4 cup dried unsweetened bing cherries

It was a good day.

Leave a Reply

