Eating Well – Day 13

I’ve read that we eat with our eyes first and I’m really starting to appreciate that. As you can probably tell from my photos, it’s highly unlikely you’re ever going to see fancy culinary plating from me, but I think there’s a lot of truth to this notion.

zesty shrimp and avocado salad.jpg

Three days in a row, I’ve been enjoying these really colorful salads and I’ve definitely been feeling this. They just look so appealing. And while I would rather do almost anything than make a conventional tossed salad, these come together so quickly.

Breakfast: orange and ¼ cup ricotta

Lunch: Leftover Thai Quinoa Salad and 3 oz of chicken

Snacks: 1 cup cherry tomatoes and ¼ cup almonds

Dinner: Zesty shrimp and avocado salad (pictured above), leftover corn relish, leftover Thai Quinoa Salad

Dessert: Plums and brie

I passed by Oreos, tortilla chips, and pretzels with no regret. I feel sated. My numbers are mostly good. 2 g over on fat, but good on the main micronutrients. What I cannot seem to do, no matter how hard I try is achieve the right levels on everything else (fiber, iron, cholesterol, etc.). On the other hand, if it was easy to do this, we wouldn’t have degreed programs in nutrition!z

One response to “Eating Well – Day 13

  1. Pingback: Eating Well – Day 32 | ___is black the new black?

Leave a Reply

