Eating Well – Day 15

fitbit-one

I don’t think I’ve talked all that much about exercise since I started this thing.

I have never been what you might call . . . athletic. I neither enjoy nor am particularly good at most sports. If pressed, I can get into a routine of going to a gym or an exercise class, but it’s just not really my bag.

What I can and will do, however, is walk. I’ve been a fitbit owner for several years now. The model I’ve got now is the One, which I like because I can clip it unobtrusively inside my clothes (really not a big fan of wearing plastic bands around my wrists) and because you simply plug it into a USB doohickey to charge it.

So here’s the thing, if I just do house stuff or go to work and make no extra effort, I get in about 2,500-3,000 steps. Maybe 4,000 if I’ve been especially active. And that’s about it. You’re supposed to aim for 10,000. This is why I’ve been making a concerted effort to go walking on my lunch time, to take stairs whenever possible, and really to aim for meeting all my goals.

But it doesn’t always happen. Like today when I had to work through my lunch. I also somehow didn’t get my water quota in for the day either. I made an effort to get everything in when I got home, but it was a struggle. But between the extra calories I get for doing all that and the way I feel all make worth it.

My meals weren’t that exciting: apple with cashew butter, leftover salads and the disappointing lemon chicken, some pasta with avocado pesto, a ginger candy, and an orange with ricotta for dessert.

Totals 1,382 164 61 74 1,465 48
Your Daily Goal 1,865 234 62 93 2,300 70
Remaining 483 70 1 18 834 22
Calories Carbs Fat Protein Sodium Sugar
*You’ve earned 205 extra calories from exercise today
3 responses to “Eating Well – Day 15

  1. It seems to me that you’re doing great. Don’t be so hard on yourself. Any effort is in the right direction.

  2. Thank you! — It’s just that I know me. I’ve been struggling with eating a consistent healthy diet, getting in any kind of exercise, and basically my weight for most of my adult life. Keeping momentum going is always, always a struggle.

  3. Pingback: What’s my motivation?-Day 144 | ___is black the new black?

Leave a Reply

