Eating Well – Day 20

So this is quinoa, which is a complete protein. That’s not to say there’s a lot of protein in it; there’s not. But it does contain lots of good things, although I guess when you cook it, those benefits go down. It’s featured in a number of my menus since I started this thing.

Okay, let’s get the basics out of the way first. It was a good day. Got in my steps, stairs, miles, active minutes, my 64 ounces of water. I’m a little over on protein again and that’s something I need to work on, but I’m okay on everything else.

Breakfast: apple with 2 tbsp of cashew butter

Lunch: leftover turkey burger, Claremont salad, and corn

Snacks: popcorn and an orange and well, 3 Timbits

Dinner: sugar snap peas, pork tenderloin, steamed broccoli, and the quinoa I’m about to write about.

I like quinoa, but on its own it’s kind of tasteless. You make it like you make rice. 2 to 1 ratio. I used broth instead of water, which helps with the flavor. And while everything was cooking, I sauteed up some garlic, green onions, and sliced mushrooms. Then I added that and a diced carrot. And it was pretty tasty.

Things I am learning I need to work on: portion control and menu planning. I need to get a better sense of how to balance this stuff all out. I also have to be very careful with portions. Although, I was proud of myself. I had gotten in all my stairs and decided I had the sugar and fat budgeted so I got exactly 3 Timbits (donut holes). The clerk either made a mistake or thought she was being nice and gave me 6. I managed to contain myself to the 3 and gave the others away. But yeah, I need to avoid making things where I have a hard time controlling myself.

I’ll end on a good note. I lost about 3.5 lbs more.

Leave a Reply

