Look what I’ve done to my oatmeal (or Day 33)

 

oatmeal 1.jpg

Yes, I made my own instant oatmeal packets!

If you’ve been reading this (all 5 of you), then you know that I had found an instant oatmeal brand with no added sugar. Even doctored up with nuts or fruit or with a teaspoon of brown sugar, it was like eating wallpaper paste. I even attempted to pan fry it up and eat it more like a cake. Still pretty nasty.

And then I googled and sure enough lots of people have figured out how to create their own instant oatmeal.

This is what I ended up with:

10 cups old fashioned rolled oats

2 tsp Kosher salt

2 ounces Chia seeds

Take 3 cups of the rolled oats and puree it in the blender till you have a powder. This is apparently what a lot of the commercial products do and it will help thicken it up. Then mix everything together in a large bowl.

Put 1/2 cup of the oat mixture into Ziploc-style bags. I added a teaspoon of light brown sugar to each and then add any additional ingredients to switch it up.

I made a couple of different kinds. Some have 1/4 cup of raisins or dried currants or dried cherries. A few have some slivered almonds. Some have added cinnamon.

oatmeal 2.jpg

Some recipes call for creamer or powdered milk. I opted not to use those (hate milk of all kinds).

I liked the texture. It’s heartier than the commercial brands too. Mostly though I liked the flavor. It’s much fuller than what you’ll get with the store-bought kind.

The rest of the day was pretty good too. Lunch was leftovers. Dinner was a quick affair of 3 oz. of chicken breast, some steamed asparagus, and 2/3 cup corn. Snacks: 2 plumcots, 1 cup of grape tomatoes, and 1/4 cup of almonds with an individual serving of Brie for dessert.

I made my exercise goals, but I really wish I had more time to get more in. Alas, work kept me busy and I had commitments after work.

And to end this on a good note. I weighed myself this morning and I’m down 2 more pounds!

 

 

Leave a Reply

