The Cost of Eating Well (Days 49-50)

One of the criticisms often made about eating a healthier diet is that it costs more to do that. And then someone will point to a bucket of KFC chicken and oh, a head of broccoli or something.

They’re not entirely wrong, but they’re not entirely right either.

Lots of healthier things cost more. Nuts for instance; they make a great snack, but you will pay more for them. Proteins in general are pretty high cost. I have all these recipes for things like shrimp and salmon and beef tenderloin and flank steak. All very tasty but all super expensive. Even vegetables are not inexpensive.

I mean there are options. Farmers’ markets usually have produce cheaper. You do what my mom did years ago when she was trying to budget for a family of four on one salary–you look in the paper for specials. You go to three different stores. Maybe if you have access to a yard or a community garden, you grow your own stuff. You eat items that are in season.

What I do notice, however, is that I am using less of things than I did in the past. I can get 2 meals out of a single chicken breast. Just adhering to proper portion sizes in general means foodstuffs last longer.

But still … it ain’t cheap.

So when I make something that turns out to be a disaster and have to throw it out in its entirety, I am not a happy camper.

Queue yesterday’s attempt at a pasta recipe involving cherry tomatoes, zucchini, a bunch of herbs that I would normally not pair together, creme fraiche, and pappardelle. It was, in a word, nasty. I dirtied a bunch of dishes, spent way longer cooking than I should have, and ate exactly 2 forkfuls before opting to throw it out and have leftovers.

I wouldn’t have begrudged the approximately $15 had it been good. I would have gotten at least 4 meals out of that. But when it’s a mess? That’s a whole other story. I am a good cook. I should have trusted my own instincts when I thought those ingredients were not going to together too well.

 

Leave a Reply

