Blue Apron & other things – Days 77-79

sweet chili chicken.jpg

The above is Blue Apron’s Sweet Chili Chicken with Tinkerbell Peppers, Green Beans, and Coconut Rice. I’ll talk about that in a bit.

I was trying to rearrange the stuff in my freezer and discovered a few bags of pesto that are over 2 years old (I use ziploc baggies to store pesto–you put in a portion, sort of smooth it flat, seal the bag, and then freeze them flat) so I decided to make some linguine with pesto for dinner the one night.

As usual, I got out my trusty food scale to weigh out the pasta and looked at the proper 2 oz serving. It seemed way too small so I upped it to 3.5. And then when I had everything on the plate, it was clearly way too large.

I’m noticing a lot of that lately. One of the other nights I opted to make a French omelette for supper. You kind of need butter to do those properly. I’m sorry but the non-stick spray is just not gonna cut it. So I got out the butter and it hit me–this is the same stick I’ve had for ages. I just don’t use a lot of it anymore.

People say it’s more expensive to eat healthy food and while some of that is true (leaner cuts of beef are not cheap for example), if you’re eating smaller portions, it kind of balances out.

Exercise has ranged from adequate to fantastic to not really adequate. I’m trying, but real life sometimes means I can’t get everything in.

Okay, Blue Apron. Blue Apron is a subscription service where I gather you pick out a plan and then they ship you a box containing everything you need for a recipe in already measured portions along with a recipe card like what I linked to above. A good friend of mine has been occasionally getting meals this way and invited me over for supper.

It is pretty cool and I enjoyed the experience. I’m someone who likes to cook and I like to try new things. For instance, I would never have bought tinkerbell peppers and I’m not crazy about green beans although I liked them in this recipe. If you’re interested in these kinds of services and especially if you’re new to cooking, there are plenty of options. I don’t know if it’s for me, because right now I have a system that’s (mostly) working, but I think it might work for a lot of people.

2 responses to “Blue Apron & other things – Days 77-79

  1. Totally get what you mean about portion sizes. I’ve recently found that I put what I think is a portion on a plate and then I’m stuffed before I can finish it. When I saw your meal, my initial thought was that it looks really small! By then I rethought it and see that that is a sensible portion. Share the recipe?

Leave a Reply

