Relentlessly healthy? – Day 84

AKA “Refrigerator Clean Out Friday”crudite.jpg

This is what happens when you look in the fridge/vegetable basket and realize most of it’s gone bad and you have a limited amount of time with the remainder.

Represented here (from left to right) is my breakfast, lunch, and a snack. Iced coffee, 1 cup cherries w/2 tbsp of whole milk ricotta. Lunch was a yellow and orange bell pepper, 1 cup carrots, 1 cup cherry tomatoes, 1/2 a whole wheat pita, 2 tbsp of a Mixed Olive Tapenade, 2 tbsp of lemon basil hummus, and 1/4 cup of almonds.

It’s a fair amount of protein and a fair amount of fat, but I woke at 5:30 and decided to leverage that time by going out at 6 for an hour-long walk. Then (this was not in my game plan) after repeated trips to the printer, by the time I went out to lunch I was at like 9,500 steps. After my usual lunchtime walk, I was at 16,000 and I probably will clock at least 2,000 more before I crash. So I have the extra calories and macronutrients.

The thing is that I hate this kind of meal. Do I feel full? Yes. Did I enjoy it? The cherries aside, no. I like having a proper meal and no matter how often I’ve done this, this does not feel like a proper meal.

Dinner will be some chicken, sauteed swiss chard, and tomatoes w/balsamic vinegar.

Anyhow, back on track again.

Thanks for your continued comments and support! I love that I have regular readers. It means a lot.

Leave a Reply

