Day 167 – Mixed Bag

rosemary-chicken-salad

Let’s get the bad right out of the way: Breakfast was a Bacon Gouda sandwich from Starbucks which I used to think was good caloric value. Now I realize I could have had something much more satisfying with those 350 calories that would have had significantly less sodium to it. Lunch was a small bowl of chili from Tim Horton’s minus the cheese and a roll. Again, could have had something much more tasty for less.

I sometimes feel like I’m walking a tightrope while balancing a stack of plates on my head. Everything needs to align for me to make it across that tightrope.

Today nothing aligned. I slept terribly waking up at 2:30 and then not falling asleep till 4. I had no time to get anything ready other than to throw a packet of Trader Joe’s Simply Almonds, Cashews, & Cranberries Trek Mix, an apple, and a pear into my lunch bag.

The only really positive things I did at work was manage not to fall prey to doughnuts or cookies and pack in a walk.

Oh, and somehow I got all my water in.

Tonight was the good part. I stopped off at the supermarket to get the stuff to make Rosemary Chicken Salad with Avocado and Bacon. This time, though, I adapted the recipe.

  • 3 slices 1.5 slices center-cut bacon, diced
  • 2 boneless, trimmed skinless chicken thighs (4 oz each) 6oz roasted skinless chicken breast
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 tbsp fresh rosemary
  • 3 cups chopped romaine lettuce, chopped
  • 1/2 cup baby arugula or watercress
  • 1/2 1 cup halved cherry tomatoes
  • 3 tablespoons chopped red onion
  • 4 oz avocado, sliced (1 small)

For the rosemary vinaigrette:

  • 1 tsp dijon mustard
  • 4 tsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1/2 tsp fresh minced rosemary
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

Just doing that lowered the fat and protein count. Her recipe is for 2 servings. I found that’s not an accurate yield for me. I get about 4 out of it, even with those changes.

Anyhow that’s what’s pictured above and mighty tasty it was.

It’s been a long time since I showed you all the numbers, so let’s do that.

Totals 1,435 165 61 63 2,598 49
Your Daily Goal 1,681 210 56 85 2,300 63
Remaining 246 45 -5 22 -298 14
Calories

kcal
Carbs

g
Fat

g
Protein

g
Sodium

mg
Sugar

g
*You’ve earned 351 extra calories from exercise today
One response to “Day 167 – Mixed Bag

  1. Looks like you made really good choices, even though you think you could have done better, and that is also a success.

Leave a Reply

