Eating Well – Day 283

shrimp-and-polenta

I will never be a good food stylist, but this is really yummy.

It’s Martha Stewart’s Shrimp and tomatoes over soft polenta

This is not a difficult recipe, but it’s one where you’re going to need a good 20-30 minutes of distraction free time to put it together.

The tomato part takes way longer than the recipe states and I always get impatient and I always rush it. Basically, you saute the shrimp in olive oil for a few minutes, remove them, and then saute up some garlic and hot pepper flakes (I put more in than she calls for). Then you add the tomatoes and water and bring it to a boil, then turning it down and simmering it for a good 20 minutes or more till it’s more sauce like.

Meanwhile you make the polenta. This is the part where you really want to keep your focus on the stove. You bring the water to a boil and then you slowly stream in the cornmeal, whisking the entire time. While you can set the whisk down once or twice, you really, really want to keep that to a minimum. 10 minutes later you have polenta. You add in some butter and serve.

If I added everything up correctly, a serving of this comes to about 332 calories. The only other thing I’d suggest is putting the whisk and pans to soak ASAP because dried polenta is kind of icky.

Okay, enough of the recipe stuff. How am I doing?

The answer is not great. I have a number of factors against me. It’s winter and nasty outside and that cuts in on my exercise. Because it gets so dark so early, I am much less inclined to move after work and more inclined to want to collapse. And also, well, without getting into details, I am not doing so well with all the political crap going on in the world right now. There are people in my life who are convinced it’s all going to be okay–I want to believe them, I really do, but I’m not so sure. So now I’m already not moving much and I’m anxious which tends to aggravate my insomnia and my migraines and well, it’s been very hard for me to stay on plan. I am slowly shedding the holiday weight I gained, though.

But for what it’s worth, I am trying super hard to focus.

One response to “Eating Well – Day 283

  1. Keep going. You can do it.

Leave a Reply

