Eating Well – Day 309

cauliflower-cheese

For years I would read British novels and be mystified by references to “Cauliflower Cheese.” Don’t ask me why but I somehow envisioned an intact head of cauliflower somehow baked in the oven with cheese sauce. Yeah, I don’t know either.

And then one day I decided to google.

It’s baked mac and cheese, but with cauliflower instead of macaroni!

You really can’t go wrong with Smitten Kitchen so that’s the recipe I used.

https://smittenkitchen.com/2014/10/cauliflower-cheese/

I do two things differently: I sprinkle some whole wheat Panko crumbs on top and I bake it for 38 minutes.

This is on the less healthy side (424 calories and we will not speak of the fat content), but it’s yummy and filling and as long as the rest of my day is on target and/or I get in a lot of exercise, it’s doable.

One response to “Eating Well – Day 309

Leave a Reply

