Waiting for the payoff

So I’ve been hating most of the new season of Gilmore Girls. Neither Lorelai or Rory have been likeable characters in a good long while, but I’ve kept watching for the writing and the quirky characters. Now, last night the chief plot of the episode involves the difficulties Rory and Dean have getting together. Forgive me for not being torn up about the problems this spoiled brat is having dating a married (albeit separated) man. I keep hoping that at some point we’re going to see some growth on the part of Lorelai and Rory; so far, it just ain’t happening.

If I know there’s going to be a payoff for suffering through something, then that’s one thing. Sometimes unpleasant or boring things need to happen first. But when that payoff doesn’t come, I start looking for another TV show.

Comments are closed.